reflective / sundry

Top Ten Favorite Reads of 2015

Whoops, a little late with this list.

This is only the order in which I discovered each book, not in terms of preference. Counting only first-time reads in 2015 (which eliminates a lot):

  1. The Handmaid’s Tale, by Margaret Atwood (full review)
  2. Gilead, by Marilynne Robinson (full review)
  3. Lady Be Good, by Meredith Duran (full review)
  4. Anansi Boys, by Neil Gaiman (full review)
  5. Home, by Marilynne Robinson (full review)
  6. Luck be a Lady, by Meredith Duran (full review)
  7. Lila, by Marilynne Robinson (full review)
  8. Career of Evil, by Robert Galbraith (full review)
  9. Let’s Discuss Diabetes with Owls, by David Sedaris (full review)

Yes, it’s true. I only have nine favorite books from 2015. I picked up a lot of duds and re-read a lot of old favorites that don’t qualify for the list. Moreover, when I look at my list of top reads in 2014, I immediately recall each of them as a truly stellar five-star book. I would not rate all of those on the above list as five-star.

Goodreads informs me I read 15 fewer books last year than the one before, though. That smaller selection might have something to do with it– and for that, in turn, I blame my cross-country move, the whole uprooting and resettling process, for robbing me of some reading time.

Here’s hoping 2016 brings me more five-star books.

 

Leave a Reply

