sundry

Reblog: How Not To Die On a Bike in London (by Hayley Campbell)

I think I have a new crush. And she’s rumored to be only a couple years older than me, which inspires me to look deep into a bottle of vodka.

Hayley Campbell

Here is a piece I wrote for the New Statesman‘s transport-themed week, A to B. Ever since I wrote it I feel like I’ve jinxed myself. I put my helmet on in the morning and I wonder if it’s a prelude to my death. I think: “Will the mortician get my eyebrows right?”

****

I’ve been a cyclist in central London for almost two years and I am not yet dead.

This is probably statistically rare given I am 20-something and female, and when thinking back over my first year it certainly feels like an unlikely outcome. Look at me typing on the internet. I could be dead instead of doing this but somehow I’m not. Either I’m invincible or I have learned how not to die. Since I burn myself every single time I make toast, I can assume the invincibility theory is bogus, so it must…

View original post 1,359 more words

Leave a Reply

