reflective

Realizing that you can, in fact, pursue the dream job

It’s about time I make some life goals.

I’ve always been exceedingly timorous about the future. Well, college was a given, but so much angst went into choosing my college major (or rather, I knew what I wanted to do, but fretted about how it wouldn’t make money). When I finished college, my sole goal for the coming year (with getting a job, living on my own, and paying bills for the first time) was simply survive.

But I think I can stretch out a little bit further now.

Like this, maybe: I should make plans for a career and geographical shift in about, oh, five years. Don’t get me wrong, I love my current job and employer, by no means do I take for granted how lucky I am to have what I do in this economy and the practice of hiring perpetual contractors. But it isn’t what I want to do forever.

And whenever I read about the publishing industry (especially literary/fiction publishing — extribulum‘s recent post “Papa, Where Do Bad Books Come From?” , including all the articles linked within it, despite its pessimistic focus, actually sparked the old dream again), I want to be there so badly, despite all the market instability. And I want to be writing professionally, too — and not as a technical writer.

Before I’m 30, I want there to be a day where I pack my things, pick up my cats, and move across the country for that career change.

Probably the Northwest. Yeah, on the personal side, it would be nice if I could be just a train ride away from my parents. A few hours. Also to experience a different climate than Houston. (And New York still freaks me out, financially and otherwise. But I need to do more research into Northwest publishing centers, as I only have vague notions and rumors.)

What’s difficult is knowing that the same kind of salary range may not be available to me in publishing as there is now for me in fields connected to oil/gas. Which, duh. It’s hard for me because, as my Harrison Assessment indicated clearly last year, I am pretty strongly motivated by money. I understand that sounds terribly materialistic and shallow, but let me put it into both practical and more sympathetic terms: I want to take my mom to Italy in 2016, for her 60th birthday. I’m actively planning on that, in fact. Which is why I don’t want to take on big uncertain career changes and all the expenses accompanying moving across the country, before then.

Leave a Reply

